Screen resolution bugged for ship selection pre battle scene

We'll help you troubleshoot issues with Battlefleet Gothic: Armada.
User avatar
Imperator5
(Former) Technical Tester
Posts: 3063
Joined: 22 December 2015, 07:46
Contact:

Screen resolution bugged for ship selection pre battle scene

Postby Imperator5 » 10 March 2016, 21:19

Image

As you can see, the edges of the screen are missing. I also don't have the button to go back to the fleet select screen.
http://forum.battlefleetgothic-armada.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=621

Please help me change skirmish to be customisable. Its very important for PVE players.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=515 Mod idea.

User avatar
Red_Machine
(Former) Technical Tester
Posts: 13
Joined: 05 February 2016, 21:49
Location: Great Britain
Contact:

Re: Screen resolution bugged for ship selection pre battle scene

Postby Red_Machine » 11 March 2016, 10:37

Yeah, I'm getting this too. I'm assuming it's to do with me having a 16:10 monitor as opposed to 16:9. The devs said as much during the CTT, I was hoping it would be fixed by now.

User avatar
Focus_Alan
Focus Team
Posts: 94
Joined: 27 October 2015, 14:51
Contact:

Re: Screen resolution bugged for ship selection pre battle scene

Postby Focus_Alan » 11 March 2016, 10:39

Hi Imperator5,

Can you specify in which resolution you are playing ?
Thank you,

Alan
Alan - Focus Team

User avatar
Imperator5
(Former) Technical Tester
Posts: 3063
Joined: 22 December 2015, 07:46
Contact:

Re: Screen resolution bugged for ship selection pre battle scene

Postby Imperator5 » 11 March 2016, 12:05

Focus_Alan wrote:Hi Imperator5,

Can you specify in which resolution you are playing ?
Thank you,

Alan


I play at 1280X1024 . Yeah I hate the widescreen things.


Also, the skirmish screen needs a "back" button to fleet management screen.

Also, you need to be able to select skirmish mission type, point size, enemy race, your role in it.

ALL RTS games allow you to do that. It needs to be done here too.
For Navy, fighting mostly imperials with imperials is EXTREMELY immersion ruining.
With Chaos its not an issue, but sometimes I would like to go hunt Imperials for Khorne, or eldar for Slaanesh!

The game is awesome, please just tweek it a little.
http://forum.battlefleetgothic-armada.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=621

Please help me change skirmish to be customisable. Its very important for PVE players.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=515 Mod idea.

User avatar
aeoluse
Posts: 17
Joined: 05 February 2016, 23:27
Contact:

Re: Screen resolution bugged for ship selection pre battle scene

Postby aeoluse » 11 March 2016, 12:46

I have enjoyed it so far overall. I do get its a beta and its not completely done yet. It's different to many other games I play, in terms of visuals and the combat system. It is very shiny! I can't wait to get to grips with the campaign (though sad to read there will be no co-op campaign option).

I think this (Imperator5 post above) is probably the most frustrating thing I found after playing it for a few hours after launch. Not being able to choose who I am fighting against or the type of skirmish I was doing.

I got the data mission once (against Imperials, playing as Imperials), got a defend once (against Imperials, playing as Imperials) and then, bar twice, I got Chaos in open combat.

I was wondering how many different types of skirmish missions there was? If its just data, defend and kill, then its going to get boring quickly. Even adding in a the escort mission like in the prologue, replayability is going to be low, as adding ships won't help that much after a few goes.

One other thing (sorry to be jumping in your thread but didn't think there was a point to make a second thread saying the above) is will there be a co-op skirmish? I think it was said you could play with another captain who was AI but I don't remember seeing if this could be with another player.

The replayability of Dawn of War for me came from being able to play with friends (I've regularly played with 4), a variety of maps/objectives, with lots of types of opponents. Having 2 out of 3 would mean I would put it down.




I have additional issues with the actual combat system, but I feel however that is more to do with me being terrible at computer games than with this game and I don't feel competent enough to be able to make suggestions on that.

User avatar
Focus_Jolan
Focus Team
Posts: 438
Joined: 27 October 2015, 14:51
Contact:

Re: Screen resolution bugged for ship selection pre battle scene

Postby Focus_Jolan » 11 March 2016, 13:33

Hi guys.

Sorry for the screen issue.
The game don't supported very well other resolution than 1920*1080 (16:9) but Tindalos is working on it.
It's normal that you don't have "Back" button. Only the "Work in Progress" indication cut is a bug. (And it's already reported ;))

I have to tell you that you'll can't choose your enemy / game type / game size... in skirmish.

Multiplayer mode is a competitive mode, this is why you can't choose your ooponent and game settings.

Solo Skirmish is a "simulation" of Multiplayer mode this is why you can't choose any game settings. It allows you to train in multiplayer conditions.

If you're not agree and you want to do suggestions to Tindalos Team you can do it here: http://forum.battlefleetgothic-armada.com/viewforum.php?f=17

I hope you'll enjoy the beta. :)

Jolan - Focus Team.
Jolan - Focus Team

User avatar
Imperator5
(Former) Technical Tester
Posts: 3063
Joined: 22 December 2015, 07:46
Contact:

Re: Screen resolution bugged for ship selection pre battle scene

Postby Imperator5 » 11 March 2016, 13:59

Focus_Jolan wrote:Hi guys.

Sorry for the screen issue.
The game don't supported very well other resolution than 1920*1080 (16:9) but Tindalos is working on it.
It's normal that you don't have "Back" button. Only the "Work in Progress" indication cut is a bug. (And it's already reported ;))

I have to tell you that you'll can't choose your enemy / game type / game size... in skirmish.

Multiplayer mode is a competitive mode, this is why you can't choose your ooponent and game settings.

Solo Skirmish is a "simulation" of Multiplayer mode this is why you can't choose any game settings. It allows you to train in multiplayer conditions.

If you're not agree and you want to do suggestions to Tindalos Team you can do it here: http://forum.battlefleetgothic-armada.com/viewforum.php?f=17

I hope you'll enjoy the beta. :)

Jolan - Focus Team.


I did so. Please tell this to the developer team. This is a very devastating blow to PVE players.

A lot of people like PVE gameplay. Making skirmish into "pvp training simulation" is a very bad move and may alienate a huge portion of playerbase.

I would humbly request this to be reconsidered at once. Skirmish needs to let you choose game mode, enemy race and point value.
This has been a basic feature of almost all Strategy games for over a decade.
In fact, Imp vs imp all the time has ruined my immersion to the point where I just quit the game, restart, and wait until I get chaos as the enemy.

Not only it is a very basic RTS feature (as basic as PVP multiplayer) but it also breaks immersion.

viewtopic.php?f=17&t=621

Giving you the ability to choose enemy, maps, and race has been in all these games:

Age of Empires 1, 2, age of mythology and its Star wars spinoff Galactic battlegrounds
Star wars Empire at War
Hegemony Legions of Steel
Grey Goo
Company of Heroes
Dawn of War 1 and 2
W40k Armageddon
Starcraft 1 and 2
Warcraft 2 and 3
Heroes of Might and Magic I think so (not sure on this one)
Command and Conquer series, whenever Red alert or Tiberium ones.
Supreme commander

As you can see, this is an extremely basic feature that simply needs to be added or PVE players will be extremely dissapointed.

Even adding other things like alliances , maybe you want 1vs3 for example? or 3 sides engaged in a free for all, with imperial and chaos fleets getting jumped on by orks?
http://forum.battlefleetgothic-armada.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=621

Please help me change skirmish to be customisable. Its very important for PVE players.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=515 Mod idea.

User avatar
Focus_Jolan
Focus Team
Posts: 438
Joined: 27 October 2015, 14:51
Contact:

Re: Screen resolution bugged for ship selection pre battle scene

Postby Focus_Jolan » 11 March 2016, 15:41

If you have any suggestions to do to developers do it here :
viewforum.php?f=17

Jolan - Focus Team.
Jolan - Focus Team


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron